Kwande Local Government Area

Kwande local government area, formerly known as an Intermediates area was created by D.O. J MacBridge, with the then headquarters at Manor. In September 1976, it became one of the local governments created under the Military government of General Murtala Mohammed.

Clans In Kwande Local Government Area:

  1. Nanev
  2. Shangev-ya
  3. Ikyurav-ya
  4. Turan



Adikpo is a town also called ‘London’, this is because of its friendly weather with a high level of urbanisation.

The Spiritual and cultural heritage is traced to Jato-Aka town, named after the legendary Tor Jato Aka appointed by the colonial masters and custodian of the “Akombo”, the Tiv deity.

Geographical location:

East-South of Benue State

Area code:



2,744 Sq Km

Distance from Makurdi, the State Capital:

149 Km approximately, 1hour 30mins


345,850 (based on 2006 census)


  1. Tiv
  2. English

Predominant Occupation:

  1. Farming,
  2. Civil service, and
  3. Trading.

Mineral resources:

  1. Zinc,
  2. Table salt, and
  3. Precious stones


  1. Cameroon,
  2. Taraba,
  3. Cross-River, and
  4. Akwa-Ibom States

However, a journey through Kwande local government links one to Cameroon (by foot), Cross-River, Akwa-Ibom States, Ushongo town, Ugbema town, Katsina-Ala, Zaki-Biam to Taraba and Adamawa States.

Districts or Council Wards and Polling Units:

They are Fifteen (15) council wards with 16 districts in Kwande local government.

  1. Adikpo Township council ward, Nanev
  2. Liev I council ward, Ikyurav ya
  3. Liev II council ward, Ikyurav ya
  4. Mbadura council ward
  5. Mbagba/Mbakyan council ward
  6. Mbaikyor council ward, Turan
  7. Mbaketsa council ward, Shangev-ya
  8. Menev council ward, Ikyura-ya
  9. Tondov I council ward, Shangev-ya
  10. Tondov II council ward, Shangev-ya
  11. Usar council ward, Nanev
  12. Mbayoo council ward, Nanev
  13. Yaav council ward, Turan
  14. Moon council ward, Turan
  15. Kumakwagh council ward, Turan

Mbaikyor has Two (2) districts Barakur and Mkomon.

Kwande local government has Two Hundred and Forty-Eight (248) polling units across its council wards.

The Major Towns In Kwande Local Government Area are:

  1. Adikpo,
  2. Jato-Aka,
  3. Ikyogen, and
  4. Koti

Agricultural Produce:

Kwande is known for its high production of cash crops like:

  1. Cassava (Garri),
  2. Soya Beans,
  3. Rice,
  4. Mango,
  5. Groundnuts, and
  6. Sweet potatoes.

Explore more about Kwande Local Government:

  1. Succession Chart of Kwande Chief Executives
  2. Markets In Kwande Local Government Area of Benue State