Akperan Orshi College Of Agriculture, Yandev, Benue State

Brief history

Akperan Orshi College of Agriculture, Yandev is a tertiary educational institution in Yandev, near Gboko, Benue State.


Akperan Orshi College of Agriculture, Yandev (AOCAY) metamorphosed from the former Farm Training Centre Yandev (FTCY), which was established in 1926. It is the oldest State-owned institution of higher learning in Benue State.

In October 1973, the Farmer Training Center was upgraded to a College of Agriculture by the Benue State Government. The School initially offered only certificate courses in several Agricultural fields. In 1977 however, Diploma courses in Agricultural Mechanization, Livestock and Poultry Production were introduced.

The College was granted autonomy by the Benue State Government

in 1983 after a merger with the Agricultural Department of the then Murtala College of Arts, Science and Technology (MUCAST) Makurdi. On April 20, 1991, the name “College of Agriculture, Yandev” (CAY) was changed to Akperan Orshi College of Agriculture, Yandev (AOCAY) by the Benue State Government as a mark of honour for the late Tor Tiv the 3rd, Dr. James Akperan Orshi.

Top Management Staff

1. Dr. Orgbanyi Emmanuel Gbonko Rector

2. Engr. Ahemen, S.A Deputy Rector

3. Mr. Nduur, Z.A Registrar

4. Mr. Dogo, D.O Librarian

5. Mr. Ngimbo, E. Bursar

6. Engr. Nombur, T.T. Director of Works/Maintenance


The following are the schools and the departments found under them at the College. Click or tap on them to view the courses:

Agricultural Management and Vocational Studies

  1. Agricultural Business Management
  2. Agricultural Extension and Management
  3. Business Administration and Management
  4. Cooperative Economics and Management
  5. Home and Rural Economics

Agricultural Production and Engineering Technology

  1. Agric. Engineering Technology
  2. Agric. Technology
  3. Crop Production
  4. Pest Management Technology
  5. Soil Science

Animal Technology

Animal Husbandry

Animal Health Technology

Animal Production Technology

Basic Sciences and Foundation Studies

Basic Sciences

Computer Science and Statistics

Remedial and Foundation Studies

Science Laboratory Technology

Forestry and Fisheries Technology

  1. Fisheries Technology
  2. Forestry Technology
  3. Horticulture and Landscape Technology

Compiled with generous information from the school website