The University Of Mkar, Mkar

Brief History

Proprietor: The University of Mkar is a private Christian institution owned by the Church of Christ in the Sudan among the Tiv (NKST). It was founded in June 2005.


The University is located in Mkar, in Gboko Local Government Area of Benue State.

The Governing Council

The Governing Council of the University of Mkar, Mkar consists of the following:

1. Abraham Akpe, Esq., OFR, mni

2. Pro-Chancellor and Chairman of Council

3. Professor. Emmanuel Hemen Agba

4. Vice-Chancellor

5. Cdre. J. I. Afeah

6. NKST Lagos

7. Chief T. S. Adzaagee

8. Makurdi

9. Dr. Paul Orhii

10. NAFDAC Abuja

11. Mr. Ityokase Tor

12. Makurdi

13. Rev. Samuel V. Ker

14. NKST Education Secretary, Mkar

15. Atese E. A. Iorzua Murkpa

16. NKST Women Fellowship Secretariat, Mkar

17. Rev. Dr. Caleb Ahima

18. TEKAN General Secretary

19. Dr. Samson Abekhale

20. University of Mkar, Mkar

21. The Permanent Secretary,

22. Ministry of Education, Makurdi

23. (Represented by Dr. E. K. Awambe)

24. Prof. E. U. Amuta

25. University of Agriculture, Makurdi

26. Dr. T. Aboiyar

27. University of Agriculture, Makurdi

28. Rev. T. T. Mkena

29. Registrar/Secretary

Vice Chancellors

The University of Mkar has had two Vice-Chancellors since its inception.

1. Professor Nancy Agbe Pioneer

2. Professor Emmanuel Agba Current


The following are the colleges of the University of Mkar and the courses obtainable in each.

Food Science and Technology

1. BSc (Hons) Food Science and Technology

Natural and Applied Sciences

1. Department of Chemical Sciences

  • B.Sc. (Hons.) Pure Chemistry
  • B.Sc. (Hons.) Industrial Chemistry
  • B.Sc. (Hons.) Biochemistry

2. Department of Physical Sciences

  • B.Sc. (Hons.) Physics
  • B.Sc. (Hons.) Industrial Physics

3. Department of Biological Sciences

  • B.Sc. (Hons.) Biology
  • B.Sc. (Hons.) Microbiology

4. Department of Computer & Mathematical Sciences

  • B.Sc. (Hons) Mathematics
  • B.Sc. (Hons.) Computer Science

5. Department of Science Education

  • B.Sc. (Ed) Biology
  • B.Sc. (Ed) Chemistry
  • B.Sc. (Ed) Physics
  • B.Sc. (Ed) Mathematics
  • B.Sc. (Ed) Computer Science

Social and Management Sciences

1. Department of Business Management B.Sc. (Hons.) Business Management B.Sc. (Hons.) Economics 2. Department of Accounting B.Sc. (Hons.) Accounting 3. Department of Sociology B.Sc. (Hons.) Sociology 4. Department of Political Science B.Sc. Political Science or Public Administration 5. Department of Mass Communication B.Sc. (Hons.) Mass Communication

Compiled with generous information from