Benue State Polytechnic, Ugbokolo

Brief History

The Benue State Polytechnic was originally established by the Edict No.13 of August 1976 by the military administration of Col. Abdulahi Shelleng, barely a year after Benue State was created. The maiden name of the institution was “Murtala College of Arts, Science, and Technology, and it was initially situated in Makurdi.

Pioneer Courses and Population

The Benue Polytechnic started in February 1977, with an admission of 250 students who were mainly for preparatory courses for entry into the universities. The actual courses leading to the award of Ordinary and Higher National Diplomas began in the 1977/1978 academic year with 143 students reading in the only three Departments offering Agriculture, Fine and Applied Arts, Accountancy, Business Administration, Execution Secretaryship, and Marketing.

Change of Name

Under the Aper Aku led Civilian Administration, the Edict No. 13 of August 1st, 1976, which established the institution under the name, “Murtala College of Arts, Science and Technology”, was amended. Thus, the amended law which was assented to on the 3rd October 1983, caused the institution to adopt a new nomenclature: “Benue State Polytechnic”.


In 1981, the polytechnic was relocated to Ugbokolo following a directive to transfer the then School of Basic Studies, from Ugbokolo to Makurdi. Between 1981 and 1988, the institution had to operate on two campuses: one at Makurdi and the other at Ugbokolo.


  1. Governor Gabriel Suswam Visitor
  2. Mr. Iorkua Mtoovyongo Acting Rector
  3. Mr. E. A. Ochigbo Registrar
  4. Mr. Abel O. Ujah Polytechnic Librarian
  5. Mr. Samuel Hungwar Bursar

The Governing Council

The Rector is the Chief Executive Officer of the institution. He is also the Chairman of the Academic Board. THE GOVERNING COUNCIL IS MADE UP OF:
  1. The Rector,
  2. Deputy Rector,
  3. The Registrar,
  4. Secretary,
  5. The Polytechnic Librarian,
  6. The Deans of the six schools,
  7. Dean of Students Affairs,
  8. The Dean of the Division of Continuing Education,
  9. All Heads of Academic Departments,
  10. Four Academic staff members elected by the congregation,
  11. Two Rector’s nominees, and
  12. A representative of the Senate of a university.

School Of Engineering

  1. Electrical/Electronics Engineering
  2. Mechanical Engineering
  3. Civil Engineering
  4. Surveying & Geoinformatics

School Of Technology

  1. Hotel and Catering Management
  2. Science Laboratory Technology
  3. Mathematics and Statistics
  4. Computer Science

School Administrative and Vocational Studies

  1. Public Accounting and Auditing
  2. Public Administration
  3. Legal Studies
  4. Local Government and Community Development

School Of Business & Management Studies

  1. Accounting
  2. Business Management Studies
  3. Marketing
  4. Office Technology & Management
  5. Banking and Finance

School Of General and Preliminary Studies

  1. General Studies
  2. Preliminary and Remedial Studies
  3. Mass Communication
  4. Library and Information Science

School Of Arts Design And Printing

  1. Fine Art
  2. Industrial design
  Printing Prepared with information from